<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Forest News
      December 2, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Cost of Planting, Protecting Trees to Fight Climate Change Could Jump

      Planting trees and preventing deforestation are considered key climate change mitigation strategies, but a new analysis finds the cost of preserving and planting trees to hit certain global emissions ...
      Researchers have identified a self-regulating mechanism in European deciduous trees that limits their growing-season length: Trees that photosynthesize more in spring and ...

      Some Amazon Rainforest Regions More Resistant to Climate Change Than Previously Thought

      A new observational study demonstrates that increasing air dryness does not reduce photosynthesis in certain very wet regions of the Amazon ...

      Could Kelp Help Relieve Ocean Acidification?

      A new analysis of California's Monterey Bay evaluates kelp's potential to reduce ocean acidification, the harmful fallout from climate change on marine ecosystems and the food they produce for human ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 9:37pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Global Analysis of Forest Management Shows Local Communities Often Lose out

      Maintaining forest cover is an important natural climate solution, but new research shows that too often, communities lose out when local forest management is ...

      Scientists Unravel How and Why Amazon Trees Die

      The capacity of the Amazon forest to store carbon in a changing climate will ultimately be determined by how fast trees die - and what kills them. Now, a huge new study has unravelled what factors ...

      Climate Change and Food Demand Could Shrink Species' Habitats by Almost a Quarter by 2100

      Mammals, birds and amphibians worldwide have lost on average 18% of their natural habitat range as a result of changes in land use and climate change, a new study has found. In a worst-case scenario ...

      Eradicating Black Rats on Palmyra Atoll Uncovers Eye-Opening Indirect Effects

      The black rats weren't supposed to be there, on Palmyra Atoll. Likely arriving at the remote Pacific islet network as stowaways with the US Navy during World War II, the rodents, with no natural ...

      Drones That Patrol Forests Could Monitor Environmental and Ecological Changes

      Researchers have created drones that can attach sensors to trees to monitor environmental and ecological changes in ...

      Building Cities With Wood Would Store Half of Cement Industry's Current Carbon Emissions

      A new study has found that shifting to wood as a building construction material would significantly reduce the environmental impact of building construction. If 80% of new residential buildings in ...

      China's Most Important Trees Are Hiding in Plain Sight

      Scientists have synthesized long-term biodiversity data from 12 immense forest study plots spanning 1,500 miles, from China's far north to its southern tropics. Their results point to maple ...

      Carbon-Releasing 'Zombie Fires' in Peatlands Could Be Dampened by New Findings

      New simulations have provided clues on reducing uncontrolled peat fires, which hide underground and are notoriously bad for human health and the ...

      Reforestation Plans in Africa Could Go Awry

      An international team publishes the findings of a study on the biogeographical history of sub-Saharan ...

      Healthcare as a Climate Solution

      Although the link may not be obvious, healthcare and climate change -- two issues that pose major challenges around the world -- are in fact more connected than society may realize. So say ...

      Wildlife Flock to Backyards for Food from People

      A new study helps explain why some animals are sometimes more often found in suburban areas than wild ...

      Surprised Researchers: Number of Leopards in Northern China on the Rise

      Most of the world's leopards are endangered and generally, the number of these shy and stunning cats is decreasing. However, according to a recent study, leopard populations in northern China ...

      Hidden Losses Deep in the Amazon Rainforest

      New research shows that animal patterns are changing in the absence of landscape change, which signals a sobering warning that simply preserving forests will not maintain rainforest ...

      Soil Fungi Act Like a Support Network for Trees

      New research is first to show that growth rate of adult trees is linked to fungal networks colonizing their ...

      The Effects of Wildfires and Spruce Beetle Outbreaks on Forest Temperatures

      Results indicate that wildfires may play a role in accelerating climate-driven species changes in mountain forests by compounding regional warming ...

      Paper Recycling Must Be Powered by Renewables to Save Climate

      The study found that greenhouse gas emissions would increase by 2050 if we recycled more paper, as current methods rely on fossil fuels and electricity from the ...

      Supercomputing Study Breaks Ground for Tree Mapping, Carbon Research

      A new method for mapping the location and size of trees growing outside of forests helped scientists discover billions of trees in arid and semi-arid regions and lays the groundwork for more accurate ...

      Red Maples Doing Better in the City

      A new study examines how trees respond to different urban intensities by comparing tree size and age, foliage nitrogen signature, nutrient and heavy metal content and other factors in forests. Not ...

      Laser Technology Measures Biomass in World's Largest Trees

      Laser technology has been used to measure the volume and biomass of giant Californian redwood trees for the first time, records a new ...

      Fuels, Not Fire Weather, Control Carbon Emissions in Boreal Forest

      A team has found that the amount of carbon that burns in wildfires in western boreal forests depends more on available fuels than on fire weather such as drought conditions, temperature, or ...

      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Tuesday, September 15, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Monday, August 24, 2020
      Thursday, August 20, 2020
      Tuesday, August 18, 2020
      Monday, August 17, 2020
      Thursday, August 13, 2020
      Wednesday, August 12, 2020
      Tuesday, August 11, 2020
      Monday, August 10, 2020
      Tuesday, August 4, 2020
      Monday, August 3, 2020
      Wednesday, July 29, 2020
      Tuesday, July 28, 2020
      Monday, July 27, 2020
      Thursday, July 23, 2020
      Tuesday, July 21, 2020
      Monday, July 20, 2020
      Friday, July 17, 2020
      Thursday, July 16, 2020
      Wednesday, July 15, 2020
      Tuesday, July 7, 2020
      Monday, July 6, 2020
      Tuesday, June 30, 2020
      Monday, June 29, 2020
      Friday, June 26, 2020
      Thursday, June 25, 2020
      Wednesday, June 24, 2020
      Tuesday, June 23, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家