<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Geology News
      December 2, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      What Will the Climate Be Like When Earth's Next Supercontinent Forms?

      In roughly 200 million years, the continents will once again unite into a supercontinent. A new study explores how the next Pangea could affect the global ...

      Geoscientists Use Zircon to Trace Origin of Earth's Continents

      Geoscientists have long known that some parts of the continents formed in the Earth's deep past, but the speed in which land rose above global seas -- and the exact shapes that land masses formed -- ...

      Engineers Combine Light and Sound to See Underwater

      Engineers have developed an airborne method for imaging underwater objects by combining light and sound to break through the seemingly impassable barrier at the interface of air and ...

      How Stable Is the Antarctic Ice Sheet?

      As temperatures rise due to climate change, the melting of polar ice sheets is accelerating. An international team of scientists has now examined the dynamics of the East Antarctic Ice Sheet more ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 11:06pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Love Waves from the Ocean Floor

      Supercomputer simulations of planetary-scale interactions show how ocean storms and the structure of Earth's upper layers together generate much of the world's seismic waves. Decoding the ...

      The Connectivity of Multicomponent Fluids in Subduction Zones

      A team of researchers has discovered more about the grain-scale fluid connectivity beneath the earth's surface, shedding new light on fluid circulation and seismic velocity anomalies in ...

      Massive explosions of energy happening thousands of light-years from Earth may have left traces in our planet's biology and geology, according to new ...

      A Jigsaw Puzzle Made of Ancient Dust

      During the last Ice Age about 20,000 years ago, iron-containing dust acted as a fertilizer for marine phytoplankton in the South Pacific, promoting carbon dioxide sequestration and thus the glacial ...

      Mystery of Glacial Lake Floods Solved

      A long-standing mystery in the study of glaciers was recently and serendipitously solved. A trigger was identified for some of the largest floods on Earth -- those emerging suddenly and unpredictably ...

      Past Is Key to Predicting Future Climate, Scientists Say

      A group of climate experts make the case for including paleoclimate data in the development of climate models. Such models are used globally to assess the impacts of human-caused greenhouse gas ...

      Monitoring Open-Cast Mines Better Than Before

      Researchers have evaluated data from the Sentinel 1 satellite mission of the European Union's Copernicus program and thus demonstrated new possibilities for monitoring mining areas. The ...

      Magma 'Conveyor Belt' Fuelled World's Longest Erupting Supervolcanoes

      Geologists have found that a volcanic province in the Indian Ocean was the world's most continuously active -- erupting for 30 million years -- fueled by a constantly moving 'conveyor ...

      The Craters on Earth

      A two-volume atlas presents and explains the impact sites of meteorites and asteroids ...

      New Drone Technology Improves Ability to Forecast Volcanic Eruptions

      Specially-adapted drones have been gathering data from never-before-explored volcanoes that will enable local communities to better forecast future eruptions. The cutting-edge research at Manam ...

      New Fault Zone Measurements Could Help Us to Understand Subduction Earthquakes

      Researchers have conducted detailed structural analyses of a fault zone in central Japan to identify the specific conditions that lead to devastating earthquake. The seismic slip processes that were ...

      Expect More Mega-Droughts

      Mega-droughts - droughts that last two decades or longer - are tipped to increase thanks to climate change, according to new ...

      Using a Volcano's Eruption 'Memory' to Forecast Dangerous Follow-on Explosions

      Stromboli, the 'lighthouse of the Mediterranean', is known for its low-energy but persistent explosive eruptions, behaviour that is known scientifically as Strombolian activity. ...

      Back to the Future of Climate

      Hot and humid: Using minerals from ancient soils, researchers are reconstructing the climate that prevailed on Earth some 55 million years ago. Their findings will help them to better assess how our ...

      Large Tides May Have Driven Evolution of Fish Towards Life on Land

      Big tidal ranges some 400 million years ago may have initiated the evolution of bony fish and land vertebrates. This theory is now supported by researchers who, for the first time, have used ...

      Ancient Lake Contributed to Past San Andreas Fault Ruptures

      The San Andreas fault, which runs along the western coast of North America and crosses dense population centers like Los Angeles, California, is one of the most-studied faults in North America ...

      Ice Loss Likely to Continue in Antarctica, Even If Climate Change Is Brought Under Control, Study Finds

      A new study has revealed that ice loss in Antarctica persisted for many centuries after it was initiated and is expected to ...

      The first analysis of a sedimentary drill core representing 1 million years of environmental history in the East African Rift Valley shows that at the same time early humans were abandoning old tools ...

      A New Way of Looking at the Earth's Interior

      Current understanding is that the chemical composition of the Earth's mantle is relatively homogeneous. But experiments now show that this view is too simplistic. Their results solve a key ...

      Deep Magma Facilitates the Movement of Tectonic Plates

      A small amount of molten rock located under tectonic plates encourages them to move. This is what scientists have recently discovered. Their new model takes into account not only the velocity of ...

      Friday, November 13, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Saturday, November 7, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Friday, October 9, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Monday, September 14, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Friday, September 4, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Wednesday, August 26, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Friday, August 21, 2020
      Thursday, August 20, 2020
      Tuesday, August 18, 2020
      Monday, August 17, 2020
      Thursday, August 13, 2020
      Tuesday, August 11, 2020
      Friday, August 7, 2020
      Thursday, August 6, 2020
      Wednesday, August 5, 2020
      Tuesday, August 4, 2020
      Monday, August 3, 2020
      Friday, July 31, 2020
      Thursday, July 30, 2020
      Wednesday, July 29, 2020
      Tuesday, July 28, 2020
      Monday, July 27, 2020
      Monday, July 20, 2020
      Thursday, July 9, 2020
      Wednesday, July 8, 2020
      Monday, July 6, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家