<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Natural Disasters News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Cluster of Alaskan Islands Could Be Single, Interconnected Giant Volcano

      A small group of volcanic islands in Alaska's Aleutian chain might be part of a single, undiscovered giant volcano, say scientists. If the researchers' suspicions are correct, the newfound volcanic ...

      Once in a Lifetime Floods to Become Regular Occurrences by End of Century

      Superstorm Sandy brought flood-levels to the New York region that had not been seen in generations. Now, due to the impact of climate change, researchers have found that 100-year and 500-year flood ...

      Seismic Guidelines Underestimate Impact of 'The Big One' on Metro Vancouver Buildings

      Scientists examining the effects of a megathrust earthquake in the Pacific Northwest say tall buildings across Metro Vancouver will experience ...

      Love Waves from the Ocean Floor

      Supercomputer simulations of planetary-scale interactions show how ocean storms and the structure of Earth's upper layers together generate much of the world's seismic waves. Decoding the faint but ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 9:07pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Indonesian Wildfires a 'Fixable Problem'

      Indonesian wildfires that cause widespread air pollution and vast carbon emissions are a 'fixable problem', according to the leader of a project set up to help tackle the ...

      Mystery of Glacial Lake Floods Solved

      A long-standing mystery in the study of glaciers was recently and serendipitously solved. A trigger was identified for some of the largest floods on Earth -- those emerging suddenly and unpredictably ...

      Crystals Reveal the Danger of Sleeping Volcanoes

      Most active volcanoes on Earth are dormant and are normally not considered hazardous. A team of volcanologists has devised a technique that can predict their devastating potential. The scientists ...

      Smaller Earthquakes With 'Ambition' Produce the Most Ground Shaking

      An earthquake of magnitude 8.0 or larger will almost always cause strong shaking, but a new study suggests that smaller earthquakes -- those around magnitude 5.5 or so -- are the cause of most ...

      Effective Government Saves Lives in Cyclones, Other Disasters

      Effective national and local governments are associated with fewer deaths from tropical cyclone disasters -- even in countries with similar levels of wealth and ...

      Magma 'Conveyor Belt' Fuelled World's Longest Erupting Supervolcanoes

      Geologists have found that a volcanic province in the Indian Ocean was the world's most continuously active -- erupting for 30 million years -- fueled by a constantly moving 'conveyor ...

      New Drone Technology Improves Ability to Forecast Volcanic Eruptions

      Specially-adapted drones have been gathering data from never-before-explored volcanoes that will enable local communities to better forecast future eruptions. The cutting-edge research at Manam ...

      New Fault Zone Measurements Could Help Us to Understand Subduction Earthquakes

      Researchers have conducted detailed structural analyses of a fault zone in central Japan to identify the specific conditions that lead to devastating earthquake. The seismic slip processes that were ...

      Using a Volcano's Eruption 'Memory' to Forecast Dangerous Follow-on Explosions

      Stromboli, the 'lighthouse of the Mediterranean', is known for its low-energy but persistent explosive eruptions, behaviour that is known scientifically as Strombolian activity. ...

      Ancient Lake Contributed to Past San Andreas Fault Ruptures

      The San Andreas fault, which runs along the western coast of North America and crosses dense population centers like Los Angeles, California, is one of the most-studied faults in North America ...

      Bridges With Limb-Inspired Architecture Can Withstand Earthquakes, Cut Repair Costs

      Structural damage to any of the nation's ailing bridges can come with a hefty price of billions of dollars in repairs. New bridge designs promise more damage-resistant structures and, ...

      A New Technique Predicts How Earthquakes Would Affect a City's Hospitals

      An international research team has developed a methodology to help disaster preparedness officials in large cities make contingency plans on a region-wide basis to make sure that emergency responders ...

      AI Detects Hidden Earthquakes

      Tiny movements in Earth's outermost layer may provide a Rosetta Stone for deciphering the physics and warning signs of big quakes. New algorithms that work a little like human vision are now ...

      Wildfires Can Cause Dangerous Debris Flows

      Wildfires don't stop being dangerous after the flames go out. Even one modest rainfall after a fire can cause a deadly landslide, according to new ...

      A New Way of Looking at the Earth's Interior

      Current understanding is that the chemical composition of the Earth's mantle is relatively homogeneous. But experiments now show that this view is too simplistic. Their results solve a key ...

      Deep Magma Facilitates the Movement of Tectonic Plates

      A small amount of molten rock located under tectonic plates encourages them to move. This is what scientists have recently discovered. Their new model takes into account not only the velocity of ...

      New Evidence for Geologically Recent Earthquakes Near Portland, Oregon Metro Area

      A paleoseismic trench dug across the Gales Creek fault, located about 35 kilometers (roughly 22 miles) west of Portland, Oregon, documents evidence for three surface-rupturing earthquakes that took ...

      Lost and Found: Geologists 'Resurrect' Missing Tectonic Plate

      A team of geologists believes they have found the lost plate known as Resurrection in northern Canada by using existing mantle tomography ...

      A pioneering technique which captures precisely how mountains bend to the will of raindrops has helped solve a long-standing scientific ...

      Stressed out Volcanoes More Likely to Collapse and Erupt

      An international study has discovered how volcanoes experience stress. The study has implications for how the world might be better protected against future volcano ...

      Monday, November 23, 2020
      Saturday, November 7, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Monday, September 14, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Friday, September 4, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Friday, August 28, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Monday, August 24, 2020
      Tuesday, August 18, 2020
      Tuesday, August 11, 2020
      Thursday, August 6, 2020
      Wednesday, August 5, 2020
      Tuesday, August 4, 2020
      Friday, July 31, 2020
      Thursday, July 30, 2020
      Wednesday, July 29, 2020
      Tuesday, July 28, 2020
      Monday, July 27, 2020
      Thursday, July 23, 2020
      Wednesday, July 22, 2020
      Tuesday, July 21, 2020
      Monday, July 20, 2020
      Thursday, July 16, 2020
      Wednesday, July 15, 2020
      Thursday, July 9, 2020
      Monday, July 6, 2020
      Thursday, July 2, 2020
      Monday, June 29, 2020
      Wednesday, June 24, 2020
      Monday, June 22, 2020
      Thursday, June 18, 2020
      Wednesday, June 17, 2020
      Monday, June 15, 2020
      Thursday, June 11, 2020
      Wednesday, June 10, 2020
      Tuesday, June 9, 2020
      Monday, June 8, 2020
      Thursday, June 4, 2020
      Wednesday, June 3, 2020
      Tuesday, June 2, 2020
      Friday, May 29, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家