<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Archaeology News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Cluster of Alaskan Islands Could Be Single, Interconnected Giant Volcano

      A small group of volcanic islands in Alaska's Aleutian chain might be part of a single, undiscovered giant volcano, say scientists. If the researchers' suspicions are correct, the newfound volcanic ...

      Secrets of the 'Lost Crops' Revealed Where Bison Roam

      Blame it on the bison. If not for the wooly, boulder-sized beasts that once roamed North America in vast herds, ancient people might have looked past the little barley that grew under those ...

      New Light on Polar Explorer's Last Hours

      Chemical analyzes of a black spot in a diary shed new light on the destiny and tragic death of legendary Inuit polar expedition member Jørgen Brønlund in Northeast Greenland in ...

      Science Reveals Secrets of a Mummy's Portrait

      How much information can you get from a speck of purple pigment, no bigger than the diameter of a hair, plucked from an Egyptian portrait that's nearly 2,000 years old? Plenty, according to a new ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 5:08pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Study of Ancient Dog DNA Traces Canine Diversity to the Ice Age

      A global study of ancient dog DNA presents evidence that there were different types of dogs more than 11,000 years ago in the period immediately following the Ice ...

      Bison Engravings in Spanish Caves Reveal a Common Art Culture Across Ancient Europe

      Recently discovered rock art from caves in Northern Spain represents an artistic cultural style common across ancient Europe, but previously unknown from the Iberian Peninsula, according to a new ...

      Inks Containing Lead Were Likely Used as Drier on Ancient Egyptian Papyri

      Analyzing 12 ancient Egyptian papyri fragments with X-ray microscopy, researchers were surprised to find previously unknown lead compounds in both red and black inks and suggest they were used for ...

      New Evidence Found of the Ritual Significance of a Classic Maya Sweat Bath in Guatemala

      An unusual offering in an abandoned and unique-looking Maya sweat bath revealed new evidence of the role it played in the ...

      Ancient Maya Built Sophisticated Water Filters

      Ancient Maya in the once-bustling city of Tikal built sophisticated water filters using natural materials they imported from miles away, according to new research. A multidisciplinary team of ...

      The first analysis of a sedimentary drill core representing 1 million years of environmental history in the East African Rift Valley shows that at the same time early humans were abandoning old tools ...

      Bronze Age Herders Were Less Mobile Than Previously Thought

      Bronze Age pastoralists in what is now southern Russia apparently covered shorter distances than previously thought. It is believed that the Indo-European languages may have originated from this ...

      Central Asian Horse Riders Played Ball Games 3,000 Years Ago

      Researchers have investigated ancient leather balls discovered in the graves of horse riders in northwest China. According to the international research team, they are around 3,000 years old, making ...

      Disproportionate Extinction of South American Mammals When Americas Collided Evident Today

      North American mammals were the winners when the North and South American continents collided millions of years ago. New research shows that South American mammals went extinct at a ...

      Anglo-Saxon Warlord Found by Detectorists Could Redraw Map of Post-Roman Britain

      A discovery by a metal detectorist on club outing proved to be a significant burial with the remains of an imposing warlord, along with well-preserved weapons and ...

      A Tale of Two Cesspits: DNA Reveals Intestinal Health in Medieval Europe and Middle East

      Analysis of 14th-15th century latrines in Jerusalem and Riga, Latvia identifies some of the microbes resident in the guts of these pre-industrial populations, illuminating how gut contents have ...

      Modern Humans Reached Westernmost Europe 5,000 Years Earlier Than Previously Known

      Modern humans arrived in westernmost Europe 41,000 to 38,000 years ago, about 5,000 years earlier than previously known, according to an international team of researchers that discovered stone tools ...

      The Testimony of Trees: How Volcanic Eruptions Shaped 2000 Years of World History

      Researchers have shown that over the past two thousand years, volcanoes have played a larger role in natural temperature variability than previously thought, and their climatic effects may have ...

      Chromium Steel First Made in Ancient Persia, Study Finds

      Chromium steel -- similar to what we know today as tool steel -- was first made in Persia, nearly a millennium earlier than experts previously thought, according to a new ...

      Wild Birds as Offerings to the Egyptian Gods

      Millions of mummified ibis and birds of prey, sacrificed to the Egyptian gods Horus, Ra or Thoth, have been discovered in the necropolises of the Nile Valley. Such a quantity of mummified birds ...

      Archaeology Uncovers Infectious Disease Spread 4000 Years Ago

      New bioarchaeology research has shown how infectious diseases may have spread 4000 years ago, while highlighting the dangers of letting such diseases run ...

      Raids and Bloody Rituals Among Ancient Steppe Nomads

      Traces of violence on 1700 year old skeletons allow researchers to reconstruct warfare and sacrifices of nomads in Siberia. An international and interdisciplinary team of anthropologists, ...

      World's Largest DNA Sequencing of Viking Skeletons Reveals They Weren't All Scandinavian

      Invaders, pirates, warriors - the history books taught us that Vikings were brutal predators who travelled by sea from Scandinavia to pillage and raid their way across Europe and beyond. Now ...

      To Recreate Ancient Recipes, Check out the Vestiges of Clay Pots

      UC Berkeley archaeologists have discovered that unglazed ceramic cookware can retain the residue of not just the last supper cooked, but earlier meals as well, opening a window onto gastronomic ...

      Skeletal Study Suggests at Least 11 Fish Species Are Capable of Walking

      An international team of scientists has identified at least 11 species of fish suspected to have land-walking ...

      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Monday, October 12, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Thursday, September 3, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Monday, August 24, 2020
      Thursday, August 20, 2020
      Friday, August 14, 2020
      Thursday, August 13, 2020
      Wednesday, August 12, 2020
      Monday, August 10, 2020
      Thursday, August 6, 2020
      Friday, July 31, 2020
      Wednesday, July 22, 2020
      Monday, July 20, 2020
      Wednesday, July 15, 2020
      Tuesday, July 14, 2020
      Thursday, July 9, 2020
      Wednesday, July 8, 2020
      Wednesday, July 1, 2020
      Tuesday, June 30, 2020
      Friday, June 26, 2020
      Monday, June 22, 2020
      Thursday, June 18, 2020
      Wednesday, June 17, 2020
      Tuesday, June 16, 2020
      Friday, June 12, 2020
      Thursday, June 11, 2020
      Wednesday, June 10, 2020
      Thursday, June 11, 2020
      Monday, June 8, 2020
      Thursday, June 4, 2020
      Wednesday, June 3, 2020
      Tuesday, June 2, 2020
      Monday, June 1, 2020
      Thursday, May 28, 2020
      Wednesday, May 27, 2020
      Tuesday, May 26, 2020
      Friday, May 22, 2020
      Wednesday, May 20, 2020
      Tuesday, May 19, 2020
      Thursday, May 14, 2020
      Monday, May 11, 2020
      Thursday, May 7, 2020
      Friday, May 1, 2020
      Wednesday, April 29, 2020
      Wednesday, April 22, 2020
      Monday, April 20, 2020
      Thursday, April 9, 2020
      Wednesday, April 8, 2020
      Monday, April 6, 2020
      Thursday, April 2, 2020
      Wednesday, April 1, 2020
      Tuesday, March 31, 2020
      Monday, March 30, 2020
      Thursday, March 26, 2020
      Thursday, March 19, 2020
      Wednesday, March 18, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家