<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Cultures News
      December 2, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Ancient Blanket Made With 11,500 Turkey Feathers

      New research sheds light on the production of an 800-year-old turkey feather blanket and explores the economic and cultural aspects of raising turkeys to supply feathers in the ancient ...

      Middle Stone Age Populations Repeatedly Occupied West African Coast

      Researchers reveal evidence of Middle Stone Age occupations of the West African coast. Ranging from 62 to 25 thousand years ago, the largest well-dated assemblages from the region clearly document ...
      For centuries, historians and scientists mostly agreed that when early human groups sought food, men hunted and women gathered. Not so, ...

      Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

      Researchers sought to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzed genome-wide data for ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 11:08pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Bison Engravings in Spanish Caves Reveal a Common Art Culture Across Ancient Europe

      Recently discovered rock art from caves in Northern Spain represents an artistic cultural style common across ancient Europe, but previously unknown from the Iberian Peninsula, according to a new ...

      Can Individual Differences Be Detected in Same-Shaped Pottery Vessels by Unknown Craftsmen?

      Can quantitative differences be used to identify individual potters who make traditional, fixed-shape vessels that have been made in the same way for generations? Researchers discovered that there ...

      Cognitive Elements of Language Have Existed for 40 Million Years

      Humans are not the only beings that can identify rules in complex language-like constructions -- monkeys and great apes can do so, too, a new study has shown. Researcher used a series of experiments ...

      6,500-Year-Old Copper Workshop Uncovered in the Negev Desert's Beer Sheva

      A new study indicates that a workshop for smelting copper ore once operated in the Neveh Noy neighborhood of Beer Sheva, the capital of the Negev Desert. The new study also shows that the site may ...

      A Tale of Two Cesspits: DNA Reveals Intestinal Health in Medieval Europe and Middle East

      Analysis of 14th-15th century latrines in Jerusalem and Riga, Latvia identifies some of the microbes resident in the guts of these pre-industrial populations, illuminating how gut contents have ...

      Mud-Slurping Chinless Ancestors Had All the Moves

      Researchers have revealed our most ancient ancestors were ecologically diverse, despite lacking jaws and paired ...

      The Ancient Neanderthal Hand in Severe COVID-19

      Genetic variants that leave their carrier more susceptible to severe COVID-19 are inherited from Neanderthals, a new study ...

      Modern Humans Reached Westernmost Europe 5,000 Years Earlier Than Previously Known

      Modern humans arrived in westernmost Europe 41,000 to 38,000 years ago, about 5,000 years earlier than previously known, according to an international team of researchers that discovered stone tools ...

      Y Chromosomes of Neanderthals and Denisovans Now Sequenced

      An international research team led by Martin Petr and Janet Kelso of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, has determined Y chromosome sequences of three ...

      Raids and Bloody Rituals Among Ancient Steppe Nomads

      Traces of violence on 1700 year old skeletons allow researchers to reconstruct warfare and sacrifices of nomads in Siberia. An international and interdisciplinary team of anthropologists, ...

      Ancient Human Footprints in Saudi Arabia Give Glimpse of Arabian Ecology 120000 Years Ago

      Using high resolution paleoecological information obtained from fossilized footprints, a new study presents ~120 thousand-year-old human and animal footprints from an ancient lake bed in northern ...

      The Oldest Neanderthal DNA of Central-Eastern Europe

      A new study reports the oldest mitochondrial genome of a Neanderthal from Central-Eastern Europe. The mitochondrial genome of the tooth, discovered at the site of Stajnia Cave in Poland, is closer to ...

      Ancient Hunters Stayed in Frozen Northern Europe Rather Than Migrating to Warmer Areas, Evidence from Arctic Fox Bones Shows

      Ancient hunters stayed in the coldest part of Northern Europe rather than migrating to escape freezing winter conditions, archaeologists have ...

      Radiocarbon Dating and CT Scans Reveal Bronze Age Tradition of Keeping Human Remains

      Using radiocarbon dating and CT scanning to study ancient bones, researchers have uncovered for the first time a Bronze Age tradition of retaining and curating human remains as relics over several ...

      How Neanderthals Adjusted to Climate Change

      Climate change occurring shortly before their disappearance triggered a complex change in the behavior of late Neanderthals in Europe: they developed more complex tools, suggests new ...

      New Neural Network Differentiates Middle and Late Stone Age Toolkits

      The change from Middle Stone Age (MSA) to Later Stone Age (LSA) marks a major cultural change amongst our hunter-gatherer ancestors, but distinguishing between these two industrial complexes is not ...

      Vast Stone Monuments Constructed in Arabia 7,000 Years Ago

      New archaeological research in Saudi Arabia documents hundreds of stone structures interpreted as monumental sites where early pastoralists carried out ...

      Termite-Fishing Chimpanzees Provide Clues to the Evolution of Technology

      Unlike chimpanzees in East and West Africa, who use a single tool to extract termites, chimpanzees in Central Africa's Congo Basin use tool sets -- puncturing sticks or perforating twigs plus ...

      200,000 Years Ago, Humans Preferred to Kip Cozy

      Researchers in South Africa's Border Cave have found evidence that people have been using grass bedding to create comfortable areas for sleeping and working on at least 200,000 years ...

      Australian Indigenous Banana Cultivation Found to Go Back Over 2,000 Years

      Archaeologists have found the earliest evidence of Indigenous communities cultivating bananas in Australia. The evidence of cultivation and plant management dates back 2,145 years and was found at ...

      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020
      Friday, August 28, 2020
      Wednesday, August 26, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Wednesday, August 19, 2020
      Friday, August 14, 2020
      Wednesday, August 12, 2020
      Monday, August 10, 2020
      Thursday, August 6, 2020
      Wednesday, August 5, 2020
      Thursday, July 23, 2020
      Wednesday, July 22, 2020
      Monday, July 20, 2020
      Thursday, July 16, 2020
      Wednesday, July 15, 2020
      Wednesday, July 1, 2020
      Friday, June 26, 2020
      Friday, June 19, 2020
      Thursday, June 18, 2020
      Wednesday, June 17, 2020
      Tuesday, June 16, 2020
      Monday, June 15, 2020
      Friday, June 12, 2020
      Thursday, June 11, 2020
      Friday, June 5, 2020
      Thursday, June 4, 2020
      Wednesday, June 3, 2020
      Monday, June 1, 2020
      Friday, May 29, 2020
      Thursday, May 28, 2020
      Wednesday, May 27, 2020
      Tuesday, May 26, 2020
      Friday, May 22, 2020
      Monday, May 18, 2020
      Thursday, May 14, 2020
      Wednesday, May 13, 2020
      Tuesday, May 12, 2020
      Monday, May 11, 2020
      Thursday, May 7, 2020
      Thursday, April 30, 2020
      Wednesday, April 29, 2020
      Thursday, April 23, 2020
      Wednesday, April 22, 2020
      Monday, April 20, 2020
      Friday, April 17, 2020
      Wednesday, April 8, 2020
      Thursday, April 2, 2020
      Wednesday, April 1, 2020
      Monday, March 30, 2020
      Thursday, March 19, 2020
      Monday, March 16, 2020
      Wednesday, March 4, 2020
      Monday, March 2, 2020
      Friday, February 28, 2020
      Tuesday, February 25, 2020
      Monday, February 24, 2020
      Thursday, February 20, 2020
      Tuesday, February 18, 2020
      Friday, February 14, 2020
      Tuesday, February 4, 2020
      Saturday, February 1, 2020
      Thursday, January 30, 2020
      Tuesday, January 28, 2020
      Monday, January 27, 2020
      Wednesday, January 22, 2020
      Tuesday, January 21, 2020
      Friday, January 17, 2020
      Wednesday, January 15, 2020
      Wednesday, January 8, 2020
      Monday, January 6, 2020
      Wednesday, December 18, 2019

      118论坛 118网址之家