<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Origin of Life News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Geoscientists Use Zircon to Trace Origin of Earth's Continents

      Geoscientists have long known that some parts of the continents formed in the Earth's deep past, but the speed in which land rose above global seas -- and the exact shapes that land masses formed -- ...

      Warbler Coloration Shaped by Evolution Via Distinct Paths

      Two genes that are important for the diverse colors and patterns of warbler plumage have evolved through two very different processes, according to a new study. These evolutionary processes could ...

      New Insights Into How the CRISPR Immune System Evolved

      Although CRISPR-Cas has found many uses in biotechnology and medicine, it originates in nature, where it functions as a microbial immune system. Scientists shed new light on how CRISPR-Cas emerged ...

      True Origin of Oldest Evidence of Animals

      Scientists have resolved a longstanding controversy surrounding the origins of complex life on Earth. The studies found molecular fossils extracted from 635-million-year-old rocks aren't the earliest ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 8:37pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      New Genome Alignment Tool Empowers Large-Scale Studies of Vertebrate Evolution

      Three new articles present major advances in understanding the evolution of birds and mammals, made possible by new methods for comparing the genomes of hundreds of species. Researchers developed a ...

      Large Volcanic Eruption Caused the Largest Mass Extinction

      Researchers say they have found more concrete evidence of the volcanic cause of the largest mass extinction of life. Their research looked at two discrete eruption events: one that was previously ...

      Half-a-Billion Year Old Microfossils May Yield New Knowledge of Animal Origins

      When and how did the first animals appear? Science has long sought an answer. Researchers have now jointly found, in Greenland, embryo-like microfossils up to 570 million years old, revealing that ...

      Indian Fossils Support New Hypothesis for Origin of Hoofed Mammals

      New research describes a fossil family that illuminates the origin of perissodactyls - the group of mammals that includes horses, rhinos, and tapirs. It provides insights on the controversial ...

      Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

      Researchers seek to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzes genome-wide data ...

      Population Dynamics and the Rise of Empires in Inner Asia

      Researchers sought to understand the genetic, sociopolitical and cultural changes surrounding the formation of the eastern Eurasian Steppe's historic empires. The study analyzed genome-wide data ...

      Model of Multicellular Evolution Overturns Classic Theory

      Cells can evolve specialized functions under a much broader range of conditions than previously thought, according to a ...

      Study of Ancient Dog DNA Traces Canine Diversity to the Ice Age

      A global study of ancient dog DNA presents evidence that there were different types of dogs more than 11,000 years ago in the period immediately following the Ice ...

      Denisovan DNA in the Genome of Early East Asians

      Researchers analyzed the genome of the oldest human fossil found in Mongolia to date and show that the 34,000-year-old woman inherited around 25 percent of her DNA from western Eurasians, ...

      Models for Potential Precursors of Cells Endure Simulated Early-Earth Conditions

      Membraneless compartments -- models for a potential step in the early evolution of cells -- have been shown to persist or form, disappear, and reform in predictable ways through multiple cycles of ...

      Scientists Discover New Organic Compounds That Could Have Helped Form the First Cells

      Chemists studying how life started often focus on biopolymers like peptides and nucleic acids, but modern biopolymers don't form easily without help from living organisms. A possible solution to ...

      The Rhythm of Change: What a Drum-Beat Experiment Reveals About Cultural Evolution

      Living organisms aren't the only things that evolve over time. Cultural practices change, too, and in recent years social scientists have taken a keen interest in understanding this cultural ...

      Large Tides May Have Driven Evolution of Fish Towards Life on Land

      Big tidal ranges some 400 million years ago may have initiated the evolution of bony fish and land vertebrates. This theory is now supported by researchers who, for the first time, have used ...

      Driver of the Largest Mass Extinction in the History of the Earth Identified

      252 million years ago, at the transition from the Permian to the Triassic epoch, most of the life forms existing on Earth became extinct. Using latest analytical methods and detailed model ...

      Prebiotic Chemistry: In the Beginning, There Was Sugar

      Organic molecules formed the basis for the evolution of life. But how could inorganic precursors have given rise to them? Chemists now reports a reaction pathway in which minerals catalyze the ...

      New Study Shows How Complex Metabolism May Have Self-Assembled from Simple Precursors

      Life as we know uses energy to reproduce itself. Organisms build and break down larger molecules using a common set of reactive intermediate energy carrier molecules. These carrier molecules help ...

      World's Greatest Mass Extinction Triggered Switch to Warm-Bloodedness

      Mammals and birds today are warm-blooded, and this is often taken as the reason for their great ...

      Ancient Tiny Teeth Reveal First Mammals Lived More Like Reptiles

      Pioneering analysis of 200 million-year-old teeth belonging to the earliest mammals suggests they functioned like their cold-blooded counterparts - reptiles, leading less active but much longer ...

      New Study Rebuts 75-Year-Old Belief in Reptile Evolution

      A statistical analysis of that vast database is helping scientists better understand the evolution of these cold-blooded vertebrates by contradicting a widely held theory that major transitions in ...

      Searching for the Chemistry of Life

      In the search for the chemical origins of life, researchers have found a possible alternative path for the emergence of the characteristic DNA pattern: According to the experiments, the ...

      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Saturday, November 7, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Monday, October 12, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Friday, October 2, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Thursday, September 3, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Wednesday, August 26, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Tuesday, August 18, 2020
      Friday, August 14, 2020
      Thursday, August 13, 2020
      Monday, August 10, 2020
      Friday, August 7, 2020
      Thursday, August 6, 2020
      Wednesday, August 5, 2020
      Thursday, July 30, 2020
      Tuesday, July 28, 2020
      Thursday, July 23, 2020
      Monday, July 20, 2020
      Friday, July 17, 2020
      Thursday, July 16, 2020
      Wednesday, July 15, 2020
      Monday, July 13, 2020
      Thursday, July 9, 2020
      Friday, July 3, 2020
      Tuesday, June 30, 2020
      Thursday, June 25, 2020
      Wednesday, June 24, 2020
      Monday, June 22, 2020
      Thursday, June 18, 2020
      Tuesday, June 16, 2020
      Monday, June 15, 2020
      Friday, June 12, 2020
      Thursday, June 11, 2020
      Tuesday, June 9, 2020
      Monday, June 8, 2020
      Thursday, June 4, 2020
      Wednesday, June 3, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家