<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Paleontology News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      New Theory on 'Venus' Figurines

      One of world's earliest examples of art, the enigmatic `Venus' figurines carved some 30,000 years ago, have intrigued and puzzled scientists for nearly two centuries. Now a researcher believes he's ...

      Only Dinosaurs Found in Ireland Described for the First Time

      The only dinosaur bones ever found on the island of Ireland have been formally confirmed for the first time by a team of experts. The two fossils are from two different dinosaurs, a four-legged ...

      Ice Sheets on the Move: How North and South Poles Connect

      Over the past 40,000 years, ice sheets thousands of kilometers apart have influenced one another through sea level changes, according to new research. New modelling of ice sheet changes during the ...

      T. Rex Had Huge Growth Spurts, but Other Dinos Grew Slow and Steady

      By cutting into dinosaur bones and analyzing the growth lines, a team of researchers discovered that T. rex and its closest relatives got big thanks to a huge growth spurt in adolescence, while its ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 6:07pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Fossil Shark Turns Into Mystery Pterosaur

      Scientists have discovered the mystery creature amongst fossil collections housed in the Sedgwick Museum of Cambridge and the Booth Museum at Brighton that were assembled when phosphate mining was at ...

      Large Volcanic Eruption Caused the Largest Mass Extinction

      Researchers say they have found more concrete evidence of the volcanic cause of the largest mass extinction of life. Their research looked at two discrete eruption events: one that was previously ...

      Newly Discovered Fossil Shows Small-Scale Evolutionary Changes in an Extinct Human Species

      Males of the extinct human species Paranthropus robustus were thought to be substantially larger than females -- much like the size differences seen in modern-day primates such as gorillas, ...

      Indian Fossils Support New Hypothesis for Origin of Hoofed Mammals

      New research describes a fossil family that illuminates the origin of perissodactyls - the group of mammals that includes horses, rhinos, and tapirs. It provides insights on the controversial ...

      Paleontologists have described for the first time an almost complete skeleton of a juvenile Plateosaurus and discovered that it looked very similar to its parents even at a young age. That could have ...

      Earliest Example of a Rapid-Fire Tongue Found in 'Weird and Wonderful' Extinct Amphibians

      Fossils of bizarre, armored amphibians known as albanerpetontids provide the oldest evidence of a slingshot-style tongue, a new study ...

      Past Is Key to Predicting Future Climate, Scientists Say

      A group of climate experts make the case for including paleoclimate data in the development of climate models. Such models are used globally to assess the impacts of human-caused greenhouse gas ...

      The First Duckbill Dinosaur Fossil from Africa Hints at How Dinosaurs Once Crossed Oceans

      The first fossils of a duckbilled dinosaur have been discovered in Africa, suggesting dinosaurs crossed hundreds of kilometres of open water to get ...

      Seabirds' Response to Abrupt Climate Change Transformed Sub-Antarctic Island Ecosystems

      A 14,000-year paleoecological reconstruction of the sub-Antarctic islands done by an international research team including HKU has found that seabird establishment occurred during a period of ...

      Fossil Feces Hows Fishy Lunches from 200 Million Years Ago

      A new study of coprolites, fossil feces, shows the detail of food webs in the ancient shallow seas around Bristol in south-west England. One hungry fish ate part of the head of another fish before ...

      New Species of Ancient Cynodont, 220 Million Years Old, Discovered

      Fossilized jaw bone fragments of a rat-like creature found at the Petrified Forest National Park in Arizona last year by a Ph.D. candidate are in fact a newly discovered 220-million-year-old species ...

      Lizard Skull Fossil Is New and 'Perplexing' Extinct Species

      A new species of extinct lizard, Kopidosaurus perplexus, has just been described. The first part of the name references the lizard's distinct teeth; a 'kopis' is a curved blade used in ...

      New Study Finds Earliest Evidence for Mammal Social Behavior

      A new study by paleontologists indicates that the earliest evidence of mammal social behavior goes back to the Age of Dinosaurs. The multituberculate Filikomys primaevus engaged in ...

      To Survive Asteroid Impact, Algae Learned to Hunt

      Tiny, seemingly harmless ocean plants survived the darkness of the asteroid strike that killed the dinosaurs by learning a ghoulish behavior -- eating other living ...

      Denisovan DNA in the Genome of Early East Asians

      Researchers analyzed the genome of the oldest human fossil found in Mongolia to date and show that the 34,000-year-old woman inherited around 25 percent of her DNA from western Eurasians, ...

      Giant Lizards Learnt to Fly Over Millions of Years

      Most detailed every study into how animals evolve to better suit their environments shows that pterosaurs become more efficient at flying over millions of years before going extinct with the ...

      Cracking the Secrets of Dinosaur Eggshells

      Since the famous discovery of dinosaur eggs in the Gobi Desert in the early 1920s, the fossilized remains have captured the imaginations of paleontologists and the public, alike. Although dinosaur ...

      Scientists Discover New Organic Compounds That Could Have Helped Form the First Cells

      Chemists studying how life started often focus on biopolymers like peptides and nucleic acids, but modern biopolymers don't form easily without help from living organisms. A possible solution to ...

      Hurricanes Pack a Bigger Punch for Florida's West Coast

      Hurricanes, the United States' deadliest and most destructive weather disasters, are notoriously difficult to predict. With the average storm intensity as well as the proportion of storms that ...

      Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

      Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...

      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Saturday, November 7, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Monday, October 12, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Tuesday, September 15, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Thursday, September 3, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Tuesday, September 1, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020
      Friday, August 28, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Wednesday, August 26, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Monday, August 24, 2020
      Friday, August 21, 2020
      Thursday, August 20, 2020
      Tuesday, August 18, 2020
      Friday, August 14, 2020
      Thursday, August 13, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家