<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Pregnancy and Childbirth News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      The Number of Times a Person Gives Birth May Affect How Quickly They Age

      Having children doesn't just make you feel like you've aged overnight -- a new study found that the number of times a person gives birth may also affect the body's physical aging ...

      Mothers' Stress May Lead to Preterm Births, Faster Aging in Children

      Why do some people age faster than others? A new study indicates that a mother's stress prior to giving birth may accelerate her child's biological aging later in life. A second study from the same ...

      Mother's Touch Lingers in Her Child's Genes

      Mothers leave their mark on their children in many ways - and researchers have discovered a protein called SMCHD1 is involved in this 'imprinting' process. SMCHD1 switches certain genes off, altering ...

      Prenatal Thyroid Hormones Influence 'Biological Age' at Birth

      The environment we experience in early-life is known to have major consequences on later-life health and lifespan. A new study using an avian model suggests that increased prenatal exposure to ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 10:59pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      COVID-19 May Deepen Depression, Anxiety, and PTSD Among Pregnant and Postpartum Women

      In a new study, researchers surveyed pregnant women and those who had recently given birth, finding concerning rates of depression, generalized anxiety and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) ...

      How Will COVID-19 Affect Our Next Generation?

      Exposure to COVID-19 could pose a risk to the health and aging of individuals who aren't even born yet, according to a newly published analysis. By the end of 2020, approximately 300,000 infants ...

      Strenuous Work During Pregnancy Increases Likelihood of Overly High Birth Weight

      For the first time, researchers have attributed an understudied adverse fetal outcome to the strenuousness of an expectant mother's ...

      'Goldilocks' Neonatal Immune Response May Protect Against Autism

      New research shows that the lowest risk for autism spectrum disorder is associated with mid-levels of an immune marker measured at birth -- whereas too much or not enough were linked to increased ...

      Common Flame Retardants Cause Mice to Give Birth to Offspring That Become Diabetic, Study Finds

      A new study shows flame retardants found in nearly every American home cause mice to give birth to offspring that become ...

      Severe COVID-19 Infection Rare in Newborns, Study Finds

      Severe COVID-19 infection appears rare in newborn babies, suggests a new study. The study traced all babies, less than 29 days old with COVID-19 across the United Kingdom, who needed to be admitted ...

      New Insight Into a Placental Gene Pathway and Its Association With Vitamin D

      Vitamin D status during pregnancy has multifaceted effects on maternal health. Researchers found that vitamin D sufficiency lowered the expression of placental genes related to preeclampsia - a ...

      High Blood Pressure Complications in US Pregnancies Have Nearly Doubled

      Researchers found high blood pressure complicated about 80,000 pregnancies in 2018, nearly twice as many as in 2007. Women living in rural areas continue to be approximately 20% more likely to have ...

      Diet and Lifestyle During Pregnancy Linked to Modifications in Infants' DNA

      A new study has shown pregnant women with obesity could reduce the health risks for their infants through improved diet and more physical ...

      A Key Player Behind Parental Chromosome Matching During Meiosis

      Researchers have clarified how homologous chromosome pairing -- a process necessary for sperm and egg formation where paternally- and maternally-derived chromosomes match and exchange genetic ...

      Exposure to High Temperatures Linked to Poor Pregnancy Outcomes

      Exposure to high temperatures in pregnancy is associated with an increase in adverse pregnancy outcomes, especially preterm birth and stillbirth, and among women in lower socioeconomic ...

      Mothers' Lifestyle Predicts When Offspring Will Have First Heart Attack or Stroke

      Offspring of mothers with heart healthy lifestyles live nearly a decade longer without cardiovascular disease than those whose mothers have unhealthy ...

      How Birth Experience Shapes Development

      During birth, hormones in the body surge in both mother and baby, sent along by the nervous system. These stress hormones are there to spur delivery and to help a baby adapt to living outside the ...

      Vitamin D Levels During Pregnancy Linked With Child IQ

      A study showed that mothers' vitamin D levels during pregnancy were associated with their children's IQ, suggesting that higher vitamin D levels in pregnancy may lead to greater childhood ...

      Mothers Pass on Allergies to Offspring

      Maternal antibodies primed to react to specific allergens can cross the placenta, passing on transiently allergic reactions to offspring, according to new preclinical research. The finding hints at ...

      Study Identifies Pitfall for Correcting Mutations in Human Embryos With CRISPR

      The most detailed analysis to date of CRISPR genome editing in human embryos finds a significant risk of chromosomal abnormalities when using the technique at earliest stage of human ...

      Postpartum Depression May Persist Three Years After Giving Birth

      A study of 5,000 women has found that approximately 1 in 4 experienced high levels of depressive symptoms at some point in the three years after giving birth. The rest of the women experienced low ...

      Researchers Reveal Why Heat Stress Damages Sperm

      Biologists have used the model organism Caenorhabditis elegans to identify molecular mechanisms that produce DNA damage in sperm and contribute to male infertility following exposure to ...

      Delivering Proteins to Testes Could Someday Treat Male Infertility

      According to the Mayo Clinic, about 15% of couples are infertile, and male infertility plays a role in over one-third of these cases. Often, problems with sperm development are to blame. Now, ...

      Congress Must Clarify Limits of Gene-Editing Technologies

      How the next Congress decides to handle the issue editing human sperm and eggs will affect the science, ethics and financing of genomic editing for decades to come, said a law professor who studies ...

      Tuesday, December 1, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Monday, October 12, 2020
      Friday, October 9, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Tuesday, September 15, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Friday, September 4, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Tuesday, September 1, 2020
      Thursday, August 27, 2020
      Wednesday, August 26, 2020
      Tuesday, August 25, 2020
      Monday, August 24, 2020
      Wednesday, August 19, 2020
      Tuesday, August 18, 2020
      Friday, August 14, 2020
      Wednesday, August 12, 2020
      Tuesday, August 11, 2020
      Monday, August 10, 2020
      Thursday, August 6, 2020
      Tuesday, August 4, 2020
      Wednesday, July 29, 2020
      Tuesday, July 28, 2020
      Thursday, July 16, 2020
      Wednesday, July 15, 2020
      Tuesday, July 14, 2020
      Friday, July 10, 2020
      Thursday, July 9, 2020
      Wednesday, July 8, 2020
      Tuesday, July 7, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家