<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Language Acquisition News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Humans are born with a part of the brain that is prewired to be receptive to seeing words and letters, setting the stage at birth for people to learn how to read, a new study ...

      Quality Over Quantity in Recovering Language After Stroke

      New research has found that intensive therapy is not necessarily best when it comes to treating the loss of language and communication in early recovery after a ...

      Brain Stimulation Reduces Dyslexia Deficits

      Restoring normal patterns of rhythmic neural activity through non-invasive electrical stimulation of the brain alleviates sound-processing deficits and improves reading accuracy in adults with ...

      Why Are There Differing Preferences for Suffixes and Prefixes Across Languages?

      While speakers of English and other Western languages prefer using suffixes more than prefixes, a new study reveals that this preference is not as ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 9:31pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      How Language, Cultural Identity Can Affect Pain

      A new study suggests that the language a bilingual person speaks can affect their physical sensations, depending on the cultural association tied to each ...

      How We Learn Words and Sentences at the Same Time

      How people work out the meanings of new words has been revealed by researchers, who say this is similar to the way in which young children learn language. The researchers said: ''A lot of ...

      Learning a New Language Changes the Brain's Division of Labor

      Learning a language later in life changes how the two halves of the brain contribute. As skills improve, language comprehension changes hemisphere specialization, but production does not, according ...

      Children With a Migration Background Often Misdiagnosed as Having an 'Impairment of Language Acquisition'

      Around 45% of children in Austrian day nurseries have a first language other than German. Those who our experiencing difficulty in learning the second language are often diagnosed as having a ...

      Individualized Brain Stimulation Therapy Improves Language Performance in Stroke Survivors

      Individualized brain stimulation therapy improves language performance in stroke ...

      Cognitive Elements of Language Have Existed for 40 Million Years

      Humans are not the only beings that can identify rules in complex language-like constructions -- monkeys and great apes can do so, too, a new study has shown. Researcher used a series of experiments ...

      New Education 'Hubs' for Deaf Children Needed to Replace Social Spaces Lost When Specialist Schools Close

      New dedicated hubs for deaf children are needed around the country to provide new social spaces, education and support, an expert has ...

      Words Used to Describe Alcohol Intoxication May Give Clues to Drinking Habits

      Research suggests the language young adults use to describe the effects they feel from drinking may give insight into their drinking ...

      Authors' 'Invisible' Words Reveal Blueprint for Storytelling

      The ''invisible'' words that shaped Dickens classics also lead audiences through Spielberg dramas. And according to new research, these small words can be found in a similar ...

      Key Brain Region Was 'Recycled' as Humans Developed the Ability to Read

      A new study offers evidence that the brain's inferotemporal cortex, which is specialized to perform object recognition, has been repurposed for a key component of reading called orthographic ...

      Language May Undermine Women in Science and Tech

      Researchers examined gender stereotypes baked into 25 languages to explore why fewer women enter science, technology, engineering and mathematics ...

      Even If You Want To, You Can't Ignore How People Look or Sound

      Your perceptions of someone you just met are influenced in part by what they look like and how they sound. But can you ignore how someone looks or how they sound if you're told it is not ...

      Pre-Brain Surgery Test Protects Language in Some Tumors

      A preoperative procedure might enable surgeons to protect the language centers during brain tumor removal without needing to keep patients awake during ...

      Study Finds Hidden Emotions in the Sound of Words

      New research shows that some sound combinations, like those in the word 'virus,' elicit more emotionally intense responses than others. This may play a role in both children's language ...

      Context Reduces Racial Bias in Hate Speech Detection Algorithms

      When it comes to accurately flagging hate speech on social media, context matters, says a new study aimed at reducing errors that could amplify racial ...

      Researchers Foresee Linguistic Issues During Space Travel

      Interstellar space travelers arriving on another planet could face problems communicating with previous and subsequent arrivals, their spoken language having changed in isolation along the ...

      Could Your Computer Please Be More Polite? Thank You

      In a tense time when a pandemic rages, politicians wrangle for votes and protesters demand racial justice, a little politeness and courtesy go a long way. Now researchers have developed an automated ...

      Tests of Hearing Can Reveal HIV's Effects on the Brain

      New findings are shedding further light on how the brain's auditory system may provide a window into how the brain is affected by ...

      Why Some Words May Be More Memorable Than Others

      Researchers have found that our brains may recall some common words, like 'pig,' 'tank,' and 'door,' much more often than others, including 'cat,' ...

      Wearable-Tech Glove Translates Sign Language Into Speech in Real Time

      Bioengineers have designed a glove-like device that can translate American Sign Language into English speech in real time though a smartphone app. The system includes a pair of gloves with thin, ...

      Wednesday, December 2, 2020
      Monday, November 30, 2020
      Tuesday, November 17, 2020
      Monday, November 16, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, August 19, 2020
      Friday, August 7, 2020
      Tuesday, August 4, 2020
      Monday, August 3, 2020
      Wednesday, July 22, 2020
      Thursday, July 16, 2020
      Tuesday, July 14, 2020
      Tuesday, July 7, 2020
      Monday, July 6, 2020
      Tuesday, June 30, 2020
      Thursday, July 2, 2020
      Monday, June 29, 2020
      Friday, June 26, 2020
      Thursday, June 25, 2020
      Thursday, June 11, 2020
      Wednesday, June 10, 2020
      Tuesday, June 9, 2020
      Friday, June 5, 2020
      Thursday, June 4, 2020
      Wednesday, May 27, 2020
      Tuesday, May 26, 2020
      Monday, May 18, 2020
      Friday, May 15, 2020
      Monday, May 4, 2020
      Wednesday, April 29, 2020
      Wednesday, April 22, 2020
      Monday, April 20, 2020
      Tuesday, March 24, 2020
      Thursday, March 12, 2020
      Monday, March 2, 2020
      Thursday, February 27, 2020
      Wednesday, February 26, 2020
      Tuesday, February 25, 2020
      Thursday, February 13, 2020
      Wednesday, February 12, 2020
      Friday, February 7, 2020
      Monday, February 3, 2020
      Thursday, January 23, 2020
      Wednesday, January 22, 2020
      Thursday, January 16, 2020
      Monday, January 13, 2020
      Friday, January 10, 2020
      Thursday, January 9, 2020
      Thursday, January 2, 2020
      Thursday, December 19, 2019
      Friday, December 13, 2019
      Thursday, December 12, 2019
      Tuesday, December 10, 2019
      Monday, December 9, 2019
      Tuesday, December 3, 2019
      Wednesday, November 20, 2019
      Thursday, November 14, 2019
      Tuesday, November 12, 2019
      Monday, November 11, 2019
      Thursday, November 7, 2019
      Wednesday, October 30, 2019
      Tuesday, October 29, 2019
      Friday, October 25, 2019
      Thursday, October 24, 2019
      Tuesday, October 15, 2019
      Monday, October 14, 2019
      Wednesday, October 9, 2019
      Tuesday, October 8, 2019
      Thursday, October 3, 2019
      Tuesday, October 1, 2019
      Monday, September 30, 2019
      Thursday, September 12, 2019
      Monday, September 9, 2019
      Friday, September 6, 2019
      Thursday, September 5, 2019
      Wednesday, September 4, 2019
      Tuesday, September 3, 2019
      Friday, August 30, 2019
      Wednesday, August 28, 2019

      118论坛 118网址之家