<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Agriculture and Food News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Tweaking Carotenoid Genes Helps Tomatoes Bring Their A-Game

      Researchers led by the University of Tsukuba demonstrated that Target-AID gene editing technology can be used to simultaneously introduce single-base changes into multiple genes in tomatoes. Using ...

      New Wheat and Barley Genomes Will Help Feed the World

      Scientists have unlocked a new genetic variation in wheat and barley - a major boost for the global effort in breeding higher-yielding wheat and barley ...

      Ancient Blanket Made With 11,500 Turkey Feathers

      New research sheds light on the production of an 800-year-old turkey feather blanket and explores the economic and cultural aspects of raising turkeys to supply feathers in the ancient ...

      Novel Haplotype-Led Approach to Increase the Precision of Wheat Breeding

      Wheat researchers are pioneering a new technique that promises to improve gene discovery for the globally important ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 11:05pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      New Discovery by SMART Allows Early Detection of Shade Avoidance Syndrome in Plants

      Researchers have developed a tool that allows early detection of shade avoidance syndrome (SAS) in plants using Raman spectroscopy in significantly less time compared to conventional methods. The ...

      Researchers Reveal Switch Used in Plant Defense Against Animal Attack

      Researchers have identified the first key biological switch that sounds an alarm in plants when plant-eating animals attack. The mechanism will help unlock a trove of new strategies for improved ...

      Genetics Behind Deadly Oat Blight

      A multi-institution team has identified the genetic mechanisms that enable the production of a deadly toxin called Victorin - the causal agent for Victoria blight of oats, a disease that wiped out ...

      Global Warming Likely to Increase Disease Risk for Animals Worldwide

      Changes in climate can increase infectious disease risk in animals, researchers found -- with the possibility that these diseases could spread to humans, they ...

      Making Sense of a Universe of Corn Genetics

      A new study details the latest efforts to predict traits in corn based on genomics and data analytics. The data management technique could help to 'turbo charge' the seemingly endless ...

      Plant Research Seals Importance of Microbes for Survival and Growth

      Scientists have revealed that plants have a 'sealing' mechanism supported by microbes in the root that are vital for the intake of nutrients for survival and ...

      Glyphosate May Affect Human Gut Microbiota

      More than half of bacterial species in the core of the human gut microbiome are potentially sensitive to glyphosate, shows new research. Researchers introduced the first bioinformatics resource to ...

      First Map of Bee Species Around the Globe

      There are over 20,000 species of bee, but accurate data about how these species are spread across the globe are sparse. However, researchers have now created a map of bee diversity by combining the ...

      Researchers Recommend More Transparency for Gene-Edited Crops

      To gain trust, researchers recommend a wide-ranging coalition that would provide more transparency on the presence and use of gene editing in food ...

      Tackling Food Allergies at the Source

      Food allergies cost billions of dollars and cause enormous suffering for people. Researchers are trying to remove the source of food allergies altogether -- troublesome proteins made by our favorite ...

      Farms, Tables and Vast Impacts Between and Beyond

      New sustainability science tools show places that have no major stake in the plant-water-eat game end up paying an environmental ...

      COVID-19 Highlights Risks of Wildlife Trade

      Researchers say that more epidemics resulting from animal hosts are inevitable unless urgent action is taken. To protect against future pandemics, they call for governments to establish effective ...

      Biochar from Agricultural Waste Products Can Adsorb Contaminants in Wastewater

      Biochar -- a charcoal-like substance made primarily from agricultural waste products -- holds promise for removing emerging contaminants such as pharmaceuticals from treated wastewater. That's ...

      Dairy Cows Exposed to Heavy Metals Worsen Antibiotic-Resistant Pathogen Crisis

      Dairy cows, exposed for a few years to drinking water contaminated with heavy metals, carry more pathogens loaded with antimicrobial-resistance genes able to tolerate and survive various antibiotics. ...

      Gut Check: Teff Grain Boosts Stomach Microbiome Health

      Food scientists confirm that the grain teff helps the stomach and enhances the nutritional value of iron and zinc, according to a new modeling ...

      What Does the Fox Say to a Puma?

      Researchers have found that in the Chilean Andes, two predator species -- the puma and the culpeo fox -- can successfully share a landscape and hunt for food over the same nighttime hours because ...

      Green Deal: Good for a Climate-Neutral Europe Bad for the Planet

      Europe is to become the first climate-neutral continent- this goal of the 'Green Deal' was announced by the EU in late 2019. Carbon emissions shall be reduced, while forestation, ...

      Governments Can Curb Over-Fertilization in Agriculture

      Many countries could be using less nitrogen fertilizer in their agriculture without compromising their crop yields, as an international research team is ...

      Climate-Adapted Plant Breeding

      Securing plant production is a global task. Using a combination of new molecular and statistical methods, a research team was able to show that material from gene banks can be used to improve traits ...

      Rice Has Many Fathers but Only Two Mothers

      Scientists studied more than 3000 rice genotypes and found diversity was inherited through two maternal genomes identified in all rice ...

      Wednesday, November 25, 2020
      Tuesday, November 24, 2020
      Monday, November 23, 2020
      Friday, November 20, 2020
      Thursday, November 19, 2020
      Wednesday, November 18, 2020
      Tuesday, November 17, 2020
      Monday, November 16, 2020
      Friday, November 13, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Saturday, October 10, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Friday, October 2, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家