<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Botany News
      December 2, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Cereal, Olive and Vine Pollen Reveal Market Integration in Ancient Greece

      By analyzing sediment cores taken from six sites in southern Greece, an international team of researchers identified trends in cereal, olive, and vine pollen indicating structural changes in ...
      Researchers have identified a self-regulating mechanism in European deciduous trees that limits their growing-season length: Trees that photosynthesize more in spring and ...

      Guam's Most Endangered Tree Species Reveals Universal Biological Concept

      Newly published research has used a critically endangered species to show how trees modify leaf function to best exploit prevailing light conditions. The findings revealed numerous leaf traits that ...

      In Fire-Prone West, Plants Need Their Pollinators -- And Vice Versa

      A new study grounded in the northern Rockies explores the role of wildfire in the finely tuned dance between plants and their pollinators. Previous studies have looked at how fire affects plants, or ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 11:06pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Plants on Aspirin

      For centuries humans were using willow barks to treat a headache or an inflamed tooth. Later, the active ingredient, the plant hormone salicylic acid, was used to develop painkillers like Aspirin. ...

      New Discovery by SMART Allows Early Detection of Shade Avoidance Syndrome in Plants

      Researchers have developed a tool that allows early detection of shade avoidance syndrome (SAS) in plants using Raman spectroscopy in significantly less time compared to conventional methods. The ...

      Can We Harness a Plant's Ability to Synthesize Medicinal Compounds?

      Anthraquinones are a class of naturally occurring compounds prized for their medicinal properties, as well as for other applications, including ecologically friendly dyes. Despite wide interest, the ...

      Researchers Reveal Switch Used in Plant Defense Against Animal Attack

      Researchers have identified the first key biological switch that sounds an alarm in plants when plant-eating animals attack. The mechanism will help unlock a trove of new strategies for improved ...

      Genetics Behind Deadly Oat Blight

      A multi-institution team has identified the genetic mechanisms that enable the production of a deadly toxin called Victorin - the causal agent for Victoria blight of oats, a disease that wiped out ...

      Making Sense of a Universe of Corn Genetics

      A new study details the latest efforts to predict traits in corn based on genomics and data analytics. The data management technique could help to 'turbo charge' the seemingly endless ...

      Some Amazon Rainforest Regions More Resistant to Climate Change Than Previously Thought

      A new observational study demonstrates that increasing air dryness does not reduce photosynthesis in certain very wet regions of the Amazon rainforest, contradicting Earth System Models that show the ...

      Plant Evolves to Stay Hidden from Harvesting Humans

      A plant used in traditional Chinese medicine has evolved to become less visible to humans, new research ...

      Plant Research Seals Importance of Microbes for Survival and Growth

      Scientists have revealed that plants have a 'sealing' mechanism supported by microbes in the root that are vital for the intake of nutrients for survival and ...

      Glyphosate May Affect Human Gut Microbiota

      More than half of bacterial species in the core of the human gut microbiome are potentially sensitive to glyphosate, shows new research. Researchers introduced the first bioinformatics resource to ...

      Alternative Gene Control Mechanism Based on Organization of DNA Within Nucleus

      Researchers have identified how the architecture of the cell nucleus can change gene activity in plants. This discovery reveals fundamental knowledge about genome regulation and points towards future ...

      Researchers Recommend More Transparency for Gene-Edited Crops

      To gain trust, researchers recommend a wide-ranging coalition that would provide more transparency on the presence and use of gene editing in food ...

      Algae Breathe Life Into 3D Engineered Tissues

      3D bioprinted algae can be harnessed as a sustainable source of oxygen for human cells in engineered vascularized tissues, researchers report. They embedded the bioprinted photosynthetic algae, along ...

      Lurking in Genomic Shadows: How Giant Viruses Fuel the Evolution of Algae

      Biologists have recently discovered that endogenous viral elements that originate from giant viruses are much more common in chlorophyte green algae than previously ...

      In Retrospect, the Burning of Wood in District Heating Plants Has Resulted in Climate Saving

      A new report shows that the burning of wood is significantly more climate friendly than coal and slightly more climate friendly than natural gas over the long run. For the first time, researchers ...

      Newly Discovered Enzyme Helps Make Valuable Bioactive Saponins

      Researchers discovered a new enzyme, closely related to the CSyGT family of enzymes involved in producing cellulose in plant cell walls. Unexpectedly, they found the new enzyme is responsible for a ...

      Gut Check: Teff Grain Boosts Stomach Microbiome Health

      Food scientists confirm that the grain teff helps the stomach and enhances the nutritional value of iron and zinc, according to a new modeling ...

      C4 Rice's First Wobbly Steps Towards Reality

      An international long-term research collaboration aimed at creating high yielding and water use efficient rice varieties, has successfully installed part of the photosynthetic machinery from maize ...

      Climate-Adapted Plant Breeding

      Securing plant production is a global task. Using a combination of new molecular and statistical methods, a research team was able to show that material from gene banks can be used to improve traits ...

      Chemical Clues in Leaves Can Reveal Ash Tree Resistance to Deadly Disease

      Naturally occurring compounds in ash leaves could be linked to susceptibility of individual trees to the fungal disease ash dieback (ADB). But selecting trees with lower levels of these compounds and ...

      Tuesday, December 1, 2020
      Wednesday, November 25, 2020
      Tuesday, November 24, 2020
      Monday, November 23, 2020
      Friday, November 20, 2020
      Thursday, November 19, 2020
      Wednesday, November 18, 2020
      Tuesday, November 17, 2020
      Monday, November 16, 2020
      Friday, November 13, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Monday, October 12, 2020
      Saturday, October 10, 2020
      Friday, October 9, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Friday, October 2, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家