<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Ecology Research News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Cost of Planting, Protecting Trees to Fight Climate Change Could Jump

      Planting trees and preventing deforestation are considered key climate change mitigation strategies, but a new analysis finds the cost of preserving and planting trees to hit certain global emissions ...

      Caribbean Coral Reefs Under Siege from Aggressive Algae

      Human activity endangers coral health around the world. A new algal threat is taking advantage of coral's already precarious situation in the Caribbean and making it even harder for reef ecosystems ...

      Jaguars Robust to Climate Extremes but Lack of Food Threatens Species

      Researchers lead a world-first investigation into the chances of wild jaguars surviving climate extremes with six scenarios modelling the behavior, mating, births of cubs, competition, illegal ...

      In Fire-Prone West, Plants Need Their Pollinators -- And Vice Versa

      A new study grounded in the northern Rockies explores the role of wildfire in the finely tuned dance between plants and their pollinators. Previous studies have looked at how fire affects plants, or ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 9:05am EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      It's Not Too Late to Save 102 Species at Risk of Extinction

      The Fraser River estuary in British Columbia is home to 102 species at risk of extinction. A new study says it's not too late to save these species if action is taken ...

      What Does the Fox Say to a Puma?

      Researchers have found that in the Chilean Andes, two predator species -- the puma and the culpeo fox -- can successfully share a landscape and hunt for food over the same nighttime hours because ...

      Applying Environmental Genomics to Coral Conservation

      Coral reefs are extremely sensitive to temperature, making them particularly vulnerable to the effects of climate change. But some corals seem able to adapt. Researchers studied a reef in New ...

      Virtual Reality Forests Could Help Understanding of Climate Change

      The effects of climate change are sometimes difficult to grasp, but now a virtual reality forest, created by geographers, can let people walk through a simulated forest of today and see what various ...

      Late-Season Arctic Research Cruise Reveals Warm Ocean Temperatures, Active Ecosystem

      Arctic researchers have been visiting the Bering and Chukchi seas off Alaska for nearly 30 years, collecting information about the biological diversity of the watery world under the sea ice. This ...

      Researchers Develop DNA Approach to Forecast Ecosystem Changes

      The rapid, low-cost technique is the first to analyze DNA left behind in animals' feces to map out complex networks of species interactions in a terrestrial system. It could help redefine ...

      New Study Uses Satellites and Field Studies to Improve Coral Reef Restoration

      A recent study found evidence that particulate organic carbon levels are one of the most important factors in determining coral outplant ...

      The Ecology of Crop Pests

      Ecological theory provides insights on pesticide use in ...

      Climate Change and Food Demand Could Shrink Species' Habitats by Almost a Quarter by 2100

      Mammals, birds and amphibians worldwide have lost on average 18% of their natural habitat range as a result of changes in land use and climate change, a new study has found. In a worst-case scenario ...

      Ecologically Friendly Agriculture Doesn't Compromise Crop Yields

      Research -- based on an analysis of 5,188 studies comparing diversified and simplified agricultural practices --indicates crop yield was maintained or even increased under diversified ...

      Global-Scale Animal Ecology Reveals Behavioral Changes in Response to Climate Change

      Biologists developed a data archive of animal movement studies from across the global Arctic and sub-Arctic and conducted three case studies that revealed surprising patterns and associations between ...

      Eco-Engineered Tiles Enhance Marine Biodiversity on Seawalls

      Marine ecologists have found that the eco-engineered tiles can increase habitat complexity on seawalls in Hong Kong, thereby effectively enhancing the marine biodiversity. The Hong Kong study is part ...

      Seabirds' Response to Abrupt Climate Change Transformed Sub-Antarctic Island Ecosystems

      A 14,000-year paleoecological reconstruction of the sub-Antarctic islands done by an international research team including HKU has found that seabird establishment occurred during a period of ...

      Eradicating Black Rats on Palmyra Atoll Uncovers Eye-Opening Indirect Effects

      The black rats weren't supposed to be there, on Palmyra Atoll. Likely arriving at the remote Pacific islet network as stowaways with the US Navy during World War II, the rodents, with no natural ...

      Coral Larvae Movement Is Paused in Reaction to Darkness

      A new study shows that coral larvae swimming in seawater behave in such a manner so as to temporarily stop swimming due to reduced light, especially blue light. Researchers think that this behavior ...

      Transparent Soil-Like Substances Provide Window on Soil Ecology

      By using two different transparent soil substitutes, scientists have shown that soil bacteria rely on fungi to help them survive dry periods, says a new ...

      The Cement for Coral Reefs

      Coral reefs are hotspots of biodiversity. As they can withstand heavy storms, they offer many species a safe home. A team has now discovered that a very specific type of 'cement' is ...

      Drones That Patrol Forests Could Monitor Environmental and Ecological Changes

      Researchers have created drones that can attach sensors to trees to monitor environmental and ecological changes in ...

      From Nitrate Crisis to Phosphate Crisis?

      The aim of the EU Nitrates Directive is to reduce nitrates leaking into the environment and to prevent pollution of water supplies. The widely accepted view is that this will help protect threatened ...

      Dolphins Ride out Dietary Ups and Downs

      More evidence has emerged to support stricter coastal management, this time focusing on pollution and overfishing in the picturesque tourist waters off Auckland in New Zealand. A study of common ...

      Monday, November 30, 2020
      Friday, November 13, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Friday, October 9, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Tuesday, September 15, 2020
      Monday, September 14, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Friday, September 4, 2020
      Thursday, September 3, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Tuesday, September 1, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020
      Friday, August 28, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家