<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Extinction News
      December 3, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Genes Unlock Clues to the Evolution and Survival of the Great Barrier Reef

      Innovative molecular techniques explain how corals on the east coast of Australia survived previous tough conditions--enabling the Great Barrier Reef to become the vast reef it is today. Scientists ...

      Jaguars Robust to Climate Extremes but Lack of Food Threatens Species

      Researchers lead a world-first investigation into the chances of wild jaguars surviving climate extremes with six scenarios modelling the behavior, mating, births of cubs, competition, illegal ...

      Guam's Most Endangered Tree Species Reveals Universal Biological Concept

      Newly published research has used a critically endangered species to show how trees modify leaf function to best exploit prevailing light conditions. The findings revealed numerous leaf traits that ...

      In Fire-Prone West, Plants Need Their Pollinators -- And Vice Versa

      A new study grounded in the northern Rockies explores the role of wildfire in the finely tuned dance between plants and their pollinators. Previous studies have looked at how fire affects plants, or ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 5:36pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      It's Not Too Late to Save 102 Species at Risk of Extinction

      The Fraser River estuary in British Columbia is home to 102 species at risk of extinction. A new study says it's not too late to save these species if action is taken ...

      Scientists Organize to Tackle Crisis of Coral Bleaching

      An international consortium of scientists has created the first-ever common framework for increasing comparability of research findings on coral ...

      Cichlid Fishes from African Lake Tanganyika Shed Light on How Organismal Diversity Arises

      Lake Tanganyika in Africa is a true hotspot of organismal diversity. Approximately 240 species of cichlid fishes have evolved in this lake in less than 10 million years. A research team has ...

      Vertebrate Biodiversity: A Glimmer of Hope

      A team of biologists found that the picture of dramatically declining vertebrate populations of all kinds is driven by a small number of outlier populations whose numbers are dropping at extreme ...

      New Analysis Refutes Claim That Dinosaurs Were in Decline Before Asteroid Hit

      New research suggests that dinosaurs were not in decline before the asteroid hit. The study contradicts previous theories and concludes that had the impact not occurred dinosaurs might have continued ...

      Henderson Island Fossils Reveal New Polynesian Sandpiper Species

      Fossil bones collected in the early 1990s on Henderson Island, part of the Pitcairn Group, have revealed a new species of Polynesian sandpiper. The Henderson Sandpiper, a small wading bird that has ...

      Deafening Insects Mask True Biodiversity Assessed Via Acoustic Surveys in Japan

      Ecologists have been using recordings of animal noises to assess biodiversity in sub-tropical Japan. The team assessed how effective these acoustic surveys were for pinpointing Okinawa's wild ...

      Applying Environmental Genomics to Coral Conservation

      Coral reefs are extremely sensitive to temperature, making them particularly vulnerable to the effects of climate change. But some corals seem able to adapt. Researchers studied a reef in New ...

      Largest Set of Mammalian Genomes Reveals Species at Risk of Extinction

      Researchers have released the whole genomes of more than 80 percent of all mammalian families, spanning almost 110 million years of evolution. The dataset includes genomes from more than 120 species ...

      New Fossil Seal Species Rewrites History

      An international team of biologists has discovered a new species of extinct monk seal from the Southern Hemisphere -- describing it as the biggest breakthrough in seal evolution in 70 ...

      Large Volcanic Eruption Caused the Largest Mass Extinction

      Researchers say they have found more concrete evidence of the volcanic cause of the largest mass extinction of life. Their research looked at two discrete eruption events: one that was previously ...

      New Research Identifies 'Triple Trouble' for Mangrove Coasts

      Some of the world's most valuable ecosystems are facing a 'triple threat' to their long-term durability and survival, new research ...

      Climate Change and Food Demand Could Shrink Species' Habitats by Almost a Quarter by 2100

      Mammals, birds and amphibians worldwide have lost on average 18% of their natural habitat range as a result of changes in land use and climate change, a new study has found. In a worst-case scenario ...

      After Election: Making the Endangered Species Act More Effective

      Following the presidential election, a leading group of scientists are making the case that a 'rule reversal' will not be sufficient to allow the Endangered Species Act to do its job. ...

      Host Genetic Factors Shape Composition of Virus Communities

      Plants can be infected by multiple viruses at once. However, the composition of the pathogen community varies, even if individuals belong to the same species and the same population. Ecologists have ...

      Crown-of-Thorns Eat Themselves out of House and Home

      A world-first study on the Great Barrier Reef shows crown-of-thorns starfish have the ability to find their own way home -- a behavior previously undocumented -- but only if their neighborhood is ...

      New Species of Ancient Cynodont, 220 Million Years Old, Discovered

      Fossilized jaw bone fragments of a rat-like creature found at the Petrified Forest National Park in Arizona last year by a Ph.D. candidate are in fact a newly discovered 220-million-year-old species ...

      The Cement for Coral Reefs

      Coral reefs are hotspots of biodiversity. As they can withstand heavy storms, they offer many species a safe home. A team has now discovered that a very specific type of 'cement' is ...

      Genomic Data 'Catches Corals in the Act' of Speciation and Adaptation

      A new study revealed that diversity in Hawaiian corals is likely driven by co-evolution between the coral host, the algal symbiont, and the microbial ...

      New Study Finds Earliest Evidence for Mammal Social Behavior

      A new study by paleontologists indicates that the earliest evidence of mammal social behavior goes back to the Age of Dinosaurs. The multituberculate Filikomys primaevus engaged in ...

      Monday, November 30, 2020
      Monday, November 23, 2020
      Wednesday, November 18, 2020
      Tuesday, November 17, 2020
      Monday, November 16, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Friday, October 9, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Friday, October 2, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Tuesday, September 15, 2020
      Monday, September 14, 2020
      Thursday, September 10, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Thursday, September 3, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家