<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Fish News
      December 2, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Octogenarian Snapper Found Off Australia Becomes Oldest Tropical Reef Fish by Two Decades

      An 81-year-old midnight snapper caught off the coast of Western Australia has taken the title of the oldest tropical reef fish recorded anywhere in ...

      Caribbean Coral Reefs Under Siege from Aggressive Algae

      Human activity endangers coral health around the world. A new algal threat is taking advantage of coral's already precarious situation in the Caribbean and making it even harder for reef ecosystems ...

      Ghost Fishing Threatens Endangered River Dolphins, Critically Endangered Turtles, Otters

      Waste fishing gear in the River Ganges poses a threat to wildlife including otters, turtles and dolphins, new research ...

      To Push or to Pull? How Many-Limbed Marine Organisms Swim

      Couinter-intuitively, small marine animals don't use their limbs or propulsors to push themselves through the water while swimming. Instead, their appendages create negative pressure behind them that ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 7:05pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Extremely Rare Parasitic Crustacean Discovered in Museum Shark Collection

      Scientists have discovered an extremely rare species of cymothoid from the mouth of a museum specimen of a deep-sea shark caught from the East China Sea, suggesting its wide distribution around the ...

      Some Sport Fish Are Caught Repeatedly, Which May Throw Off Population Count

      A new study reports that, for several species of oceanic sport fish, individual fish that are caught, released and recaught are more likely to be caught again than scientists anticipated. The ...

      Spiny Dogfish Eat Atlantic Cod: DNA May Provide Some Answers

      As dogfish populations recover from overfishing, questions remain about how much Atlantic cod they are eating and its impact on the struggling cod population. Researchers used innovative genetic ...

      Fish Carcasses Deliver Toxic Mercury Pollution to the Deepest Ocean Trenches

      The sinking carcasses of fish from near-surface waters deliver toxic mercury pollution to the most remote and inaccessible parts of the world's oceans, including the deepest spot of them all: ...

      Paleontologists Uncover Three New Species of Extinct Walruses in Orange County, California

      Millions of years ago, in the warm Pacific Ocean off the coast of Southern California, walrus species without tusks lived abundantly. But in a new study, paleontologists have identified three new ...

      New Maps Document Big-Game Migrations Across the Western United States

      For the first time, state and federal wildlife biologists have come together to map the migrations of ungulates across America's West. The maps will help land managers and conservationists ...

      Late-Season Arctic Research Cruise Reveals Warm Ocean Temperatures, Active Ecosystem

      Arctic researchers have been visiting the Bering and Chukchi seas off Alaska for nearly 30 years, collecting information about the biological diversity of the watery world under the sea ice. This ...

      Fish Give Insight on Sound Sensitivity in Autism

      Scientists used zebrafish that carry the same genetic mutations as humans with Fragile X syndrome and autism, and discovered the neural networks and pathways that produce the hypersensitivities to ...

      Scientists Develop AI-Powered 'Electronic Nose' to Sniff out Meat Freshness

      Scientists have invented an artificial olfactory system that mimics the mammalian nose to assess the freshness of meat accurately. The 'electronic nose' comprises a 'barcode' that ...

      Marine Fisheries Will Not Offset Farm Losses After Nuclear War

      After a nuclear war, wild-catch marine fisheries will not offset the loss of food grown on land, especially if widespread overfishing continues, according to a new study. But effective pre-war ...

      phyloFlash: New Software for Fast and Easy Analysis of Environmental Microbes

      Researchers are developing a user-friendly method to reconstruct and analyze SSU rRNA from raw metagenome ...

      After Election: Making the Endangered Species Act More Effective

      Following the presidential election, a leading group of scientists are making the case that a 'rule reversal' will not be sufficient to allow the Endangered Species Act to do its job. ...

      Shifts in Water Temperatures Affect Eating Habits of Larval Tuna at Critical Life Stage

      Small shifts in ocean temperature can have significant effects on the eating habits of blackfin tuna during the larval stage of development, when finding food and growing quickly are critical to ...

      DNA in Seawater Can Reveal Fish Diversity in the Deep Ocean

      A new study demonstrates the effectiveness of a novel method for using DNA in seawater samples to determine which fish species are present in a given part of the deep ...

      Large-Scale Study: Congolese Fishermen Report Decline in Fish Stocks on Lake Tanganyika

      Fishermen working on Lake Tanganyika in eastern Congo experience a lack of safety and want better enforcement of existing regulations. They also report a decline in the lake's fish ...

      Fossil Feces Hows Fishy Lunches from 200 Million Years Ago

      A new study of coprolites, fossil feces, shows the detail of food webs in the ancient shallow seas around Bristol in south-west England. One hungry fish ate part of the head of another fish before ...

      The Cement for Coral Reefs

      Coral reefs are hotspots of biodiversity. As they can withstand heavy storms, they offer many species a safe home. A team has now discovered that a very specific type of 'cement' is ...

      Dolphins Ride out Dietary Ups and Downs

      More evidence has emerged to support stricter coastal management, this time focusing on pollution and overfishing in the picturesque tourist waters off Auckland in New Zealand. A study of common ...

      Future Lake Food Webs in Subarctic Have More Biomass and Contain More Omega-3 Fatty Acids

      Subarctic regions are facing rapid changes in climate and land-use intensity. An international research team recently completed an investigation to see how these changes are affecting the food webs ...

      Spring-Run and Fall-Run Chinook Salmon Aren't as Different as They Seem

      Historically, spring-run and fall-run Chinook salmon have been considered as separate subspecies, races, ecotypes, or even as separate species of fish. A new genetic analysis, however, shows that the ...

      Tuesday, November 17, 2020
      Monday, November 16, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Tuesday, November 3, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Wednesday, October 14, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Friday, October 2, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020
      Tuesday, September 15, 2020
      Monday, September 14, 2020
      Friday, September 11, 2020
      Wednesday, September 9, 2020
      Tuesday, September 8, 2020
      Monday, September 7, 2020
      Wednesday, September 2, 2020
      Tuesday, September 1, 2020
      Monday, August 31, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家