<address id="lxrbh"></address>

      advertisement
      Astronomy News
      December 2, 2020

      Top Headlines
       

      Research Suggests Our Galaxy's Brightest Gamma-Ray Binary System May Be Powered by a Magnetar Star

      A research team has shed new night on the massive star and its neutron star companion, which are thought to be at the core of the gamma-ray binary ...
      Astronomers developed a new method to calibrate detectors to the light from dust in our Galaxy, thereby describing a new physics, with 99.2 percent accuracy, that may show ...

      Experiments Unravelling the Mystery of Mars' Moon Phobos

      There is no weather in space - but there is weathering: Celestial bodies are bombarded by high energy particles. On the Mars moon Phobos, the situation is complicated: It is hit by particles from the ...

      Puzzling 'Cold Quasar' Forming New Stars in Spite of Active Galactic Nucleus

      Using NASA's SOFIA telescope, researchers have found CQ 4479, a galaxy which never had been closely studied before, to be generating new stars in ...
      Latest Headlines
      updated 9:02pm EST

      Earlier Headlines
       

      Blue Ring Nebula: 16-Year-Old Cosmic Mystery Solved, Revealing Stellar Missing Link

      Astronomers have solved the 16-year-old mystery surrounding the Blue Ring Nebula - an unusual, large, faint blob of gas with a star at its center. This object is unlike any they'd ever seen ...

      Cosmic Flashes Come in All Different Sizes

      By studying the site of a spectacular stellar explosion seen in April 2020, scientists have used four European radio telescopes to confirm that astronomy's most exciting puzzle is about to be ...

      Building Blocks of Life Can Form Long Before Stars

      An international team of scientists have shown that glycine, the simplest amino acid and an important building block of life, can form under the harsh conditions that govern chemistry in ...

      Scientists Expand Space Instrument's Capabilities

      Scientists have expanded the capabilities of the prototype spaceflight instrument Chemistry Organic and Dating Experiment (CODEX), designed for field-based dating of extraterrestrial materials. CODEX ...

      An international crew of astronauts is en route to the International Space Station following a successful launch on the first NASA-certified commercial human spacecraft system in history. NASA's ...

      History of Temperature Changes in the Universe Revealed

      How hot is the Universe today? How hot was it before? A new study by an international team of researchers suggests that the mean temperature of gas in large structures of the Universe has increased ...

      Escape from Mars: How Water Fled the Red Planet

      Mars once had oceans but is now bone-dry, leaving many to wonder how the water was lost. Researchers have discovered a surprisingly large amount of water in the upper atmosphere of Mars, where it is ...

      Birth of Magnetar from Colossal Collision Potentially Spotted for First Time

      Researchers spotted a short gamma ray burst 10 times brighter than predicted. The mysterious brightness might signal the birth of a rare magnetar, formed from two neutron stars merging, which has ...

      Massive explosions of energy happening thousands of light-years from Earth may have left traces in our planet's biology and geology, according to new ...

      Dark Matter from the Depths of the Universe

      Cataclysmic astrophysical events such as black hole mergers could release energy in unexpected forms. Exotic low-mass fields (ELFs), for example, could propagate through space and cause feeble ...

      Researchers Model Source of Eruption on Jupiter's Moon Europa

      A new model shows how brine on Jupiter's moon Europa can migrate within the icy shell to form pockets of salty water that erupt to the surface when freezing. The findings, which are important ...

      Radioactive Elements May Be Crucial to the Habitability of Rocky Planets

      The amount of long-lived radioactive elements incorporated into a rocky planet as it forms may be a crucial factor in determining its future habitability. That's because internal heating from ...

      Black Hole or No Black Hole: On the Outcome of Neutron Star Collisions

      A new study investigates black-hole formation in neutron star mergers. Computer simulations show that the properties of dense nuclear matter play a crucial role, which directly links the ...

      The Universe Is Getting Hot, Hot, Hot, a New Study Suggests

      The universe is getting hotter, a new study has found. The study probed the thermal history of the universe over the last 10 billion years. It found that the mean temperature of gas across the ...

      Mining Rocks in Orbit Could Aid Deep Space Exploration

      The first mining experiments conducted in space could pave the way for new technologies to help humans explore and establish settlements on distant worlds, a study ...

      First Brown Dwarf Discovered by Radio Observations Confirmed

      New research has led to the first direct discovery of a cold brown dwarf from its radio wavelength emission. Along with paving the way for future brown dwarf discoveries, this result is an important ...

      Life is deeply dependent on water, but where does water come from? Based on new research, researchers believe it may emerge in connection with the formation of ...

      Stellar Flares Can Lead to Diminishment of a Planet's Habitability

      Researchers identified which stars were most likely to host habitable exoplanets based on the calculated erosion rates of the planetary ...

      Final Dance of Unequal Black Hole Partners

      Researchers used the Frontera supercomputer to model for the first time a black hole merger of two black holes with very different sizes (128:1). The research required seven months of constant ...

      Has the Hidden Matter of the Universe Been Discovered?

      Astrophysicists consider that around 40% of the ordinary matter that makes up stars, planets and galaxies remains undetected, concealed in the form of a hot gas in the complexe cosmic web. Today, ...

      Wednesday, November 18, 2020
      Monday, November 16, 2020
      Friday, November 13, 2020
      Thursday, November 12, 2020
      Wednesday, November 11, 2020
      Tuesday, November 10, 2020
      Monday, November 9, 2020
      Friday, November 6, 2020
      Thursday, November 5, 2020
      Wednesday, November 4, 2020
      Monday, November 2, 2020
      Friday, October 30, 2020
      Thursday, October 29, 2020
      Wednesday, October 28, 2020
      Tuesday, October 27, 2020
      Monday, October 26, 2020
      Friday, October 23, 2020
      Thursday, October 22, 2020
      Wednesday, October 21, 2020
      Tuesday, October 20, 2020
      Monday, October 19, 2020
      Friday, October 16, 2020
      Thursday, October 15, 2020
      Tuesday, October 13, 2020
      Monday, October 12, 2020
      Sunday, October 11, 2020
      Friday, October 9, 2020
      Thursday, October 8, 2020
      Wednesday, October 7, 2020
      Tuesday, October 6, 2020
      Monday, October 5, 2020
      Thursday, October 1, 2020
      Wednesday, September 30, 2020
      Tuesday, September 29, 2020
      Monday, September 28, 2020
      Saturday, September 26, 2020
      Friday, September 25, 2020
      Thursday, September 24, 2020
      Wednesday, September 23, 2020
      Tuesday, September 22, 2020
      Monday, September 21, 2020
      Friday, September 18, 2020
      Thursday, September 17, 2020
      Wednesday, September 16, 2020

      118论坛 118网址之家